# Qt6 build: close scene and discard modifications is ignored

**URL:** <https://discourse.slicer.org/t/qt6-build-close-scene-and-discard-modifications-is-ignored/47108>\
**Category:** Support\
**Created:** [May 21, 2026, 5:10pm UTC](https://discourse.slicer.org/t/qt6-build-close-scene-and-discard-modifications-is-ignored/47108 "2026-05-21T17:10:34Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![chir.set](https://sea2.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/user_avatar/discourse.slicer.org/chir.set/32/66982_2.png) [@chir.set](https://discourse.slicer.org/u/chir.set)\
**Post date:** [May 21, 2026, 5:10pm UTC](https://discourse.slicer.org/t/qt6-build-close-scene-and-discard-modifications-is-ignored/47108/1 "2026-05-21T17:10:34Z")

</div>

I am experimenting with using Slicer built with `Qt6` on `Arch Linux` on a daily basis.

When a scene is closed, the `SaveBeforeClosingScene` appears. When the `Close scene (discard modifications)` button is clicked, the scene is not closed as it happens with `Qt5` builds. Instead, the `SaveSceneAndUnsavedData` dialog appears. The only way to close the scene and discard modifications is to uncheck all items and click the `Save` button.

That’s a manageable annoyance, I just wish to bring it to your attention.

 ![SaveBeforeClosingScene](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/uploads/slicer/original/3X/e/5/e5a52a259e9a05fe9e8a2d71c69f36b403a0accc.png)

 ![SaveSceneAndUnsavedData](https://us1.discourse-cdn.com/flex002/uploads/slicer/original/3X/b/7/b733000acfa51f9b4a8865d5fcba803d8da07092.png)

For precision, Slicer is built with `Qt 6.10.2` (to build CTK successfully) and runs equally with `6.10.2` and with system `6.11.1`.
