Affine Registration of CT to Optical Volumes

Hello all,

I have just started using 3D slicer this month, I am new to image processing. I am trying to register the CT of a 3d-printed (Powder Bed Fusion) metal cylinder (very simple geometry, diameter = 2mm, with indents every 2mm height-wise to facilitate feature identification for registration) to the optical stack of the same part (taken with a DSLR camera during operation of the 3d printer).

The camera takes images of the powder bed in the printer (after the laser has melted it) every 30 micron, thus building a stack of slices with resolution (7 x 7 x 30 micron); the CT has resolution (2.5 x 2.5 x 2.5 micron).

To prepare for the registration I first crop all unwanted regions from both stacks (e.g. slices containing CT artifacts), rotate the CT 180° to more or less match the direction of the optical stack, and perform a first fiducial registration (Fiducial Registration module) using 10 fiducials placed at various heights on the coronal view (see screenshot).

At this point the stacks match in height, but the cross-section area (i.e. each slice) of the CT is clearly larger than that of the optical stack. The final step would ideally be a registration that allows the CT to be rescaled in x and y to match the optical stack exactly, but I am not sure how to do this. I have mostly been attempting affine and b-spline registrations with a variety of modules for this, but to no avail.

Having very little experience with image registration I am unsure of the reasons for which none of these methods work. Does 3d slicer have a module that allows for obtaining this final registration step with relative ease?

Thank you very much,
Matteo

There are dozens of registration tools for Slicer, but we highlighted a few that we generally recommend here: https://slicer.readthedocs.io/en/latest/user_guide/registration.html