AI segmentation of bird brain

Hello! I am a undergraduate student researcher who is new to this area. I’ve recently started working on a project involving automatically segmenting CT scans of Bird Brains. I was wondering if you had tips on how to get started with this process? You mentioned that it is a matter of putting GPUs to use. I have a hand full of unsegmented nrrd files, as well as some manually segmented nrrd files.

There are multiple frameworks to train your own custom segmentation network. Here are pointers to two.

1. Slicer extension for MONAILabel. MONAILabel/plugins/slicer at main · Project-MONAI/MONAILabel · GitHub

2. An example python script to use nn-Unet to train a segmentaiton network that we used in a recent SlicerMorph workshop. GitHub - pieper/nnmouse: Sample scripts for training nnU-Net on mouse fetus data

In both cases the important thing is to have some label (segmented) data at hand so that you can do supervised training.

1 Like

Thank you for your help - I am currently trying to follow this guide. But am running into a lot of issues, specifically around data loading. As it is, I have unsegmented nrrd files, manually segmented .seg.nrrd files, as well as folders containing .nii files which are the slices of the 3D nrrd files.

I also started out looking at the memos module, but that is proving difficult to rework into code that works for my purposes. I was wondering if there was access to the code that was used to train/create the best_metric_model_largePatch_noise.pth model?

Edit: Here is the current code that I have tried (scratch), but am coming across an error that I don’t quite understand:

RuntimeError: Expected 4D (unbatched) or 5D (batched) input to conv3d, but got input of size: [1, 1, 0, 108, 108, 455]

import os
import torch
from torch.utils.data import DataLoader
from monai.transforms import (
    LoadImaged,
    EnsureChannelFirstd,
    ScaleIntensityd,
    SpatialCropd,
    ToTensord,
    Compose,
)