Colour Gradient Based on Pixel Density of Overlaid Segmentations?

Hello,

I am new to 3D slicer, but I have a series of MRIs which I have overlaid and segmented. I would like to now take those segmentations and apply a filter to visualize their overlap. I have seen this done with two segmentations, but as I have ~40 I would like to use a colour scale to express the relative amount of overlap.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Thanks, Greg

A simple way of dealing with this is to write a short Python script, which does the following:

• create an “accumulation volume” (segments from all images will be added to it) fill with all zeros, get it as a numpy array (using slicer.util.arrayFromVolume())
  • load each segmentation, export the segment to a numpy array (using slicer.util.arrayFromSegmentBinaryLabelmap), you threshold this numpy array (set it to 1 where it has non-zero values), and add the values to the accumulation volume’s numpy array
  • update the accumulation volume node from its numpy array (using slicer.util.arrayFromVolumeModified())

Hi Andras,

Thank you for your response. Sorry I am still a little confused, I believe I have followed your instructions (although I am very much still learning so the mistake is probably mine), but now I just see a complete overlay of all these segmentations. Is there a way to apply a colour gradient based on the relative overlap?

Thanks, Greg

Could you copy the otthon script that you created? We could tell you what to add or change to see the result as a scalar volume instead of a binary.

Hi Andras,

I am not terribly familiar with python (so after a few failed attempts) I used the method you mention under: Segment / BinaryLabelMap to numpy array.

Would this work for the problem?

You need to add the numpy arrays so that if a voxel is set to 1 in multiple segmentations then that voxel value will be larger than 1 (the value should be the number of segmentations where that voxel is non-zero).

Hi Andras,