Compute normal vectors from planar contours

Hi,

Is it possible to compute normal vectors for each 3D point of planar contour in SlicerRT? If yes , how we can do it.

thank’s in advance

Computing surface normals is not a SlicerRT function. I am not an expert, but I think converting to model representation would be the first step. In what format would you want the normal vectors and why do you think you need them?

I want implement an implicit method to construct a 3D surface from a set of planar contours. So I need to compute a normal vector for each 3D point of the contour to be able to evalute the implicit function. More precisely, i want convert planar contours to a 3D surface using the converter rule planarcontoursto3d surface. there is an interpolation method in slicerRT but the compute of the 3d surface via this method does not need the knowledge of normal of each 3D point.

Computing the normal vector correctly is hard (comparable to the difficulty of reconstructing a surface). SlicerRT can compute it after it has already reconstructed the closed surface.

Hi professor;

thank’s for the response. I just want to know if I can access to the points of each contour separately?. I want implement a flood fill algorithm in order to be able to compute an approximate normal vector.

Thank’s in advance

You can find the closest point on the reconstructed surface using a VTK locator and get the surface normal from there.

but i need to knwo the normal vector before reconstructing the 3D surface . I have implemented the implicot method in 3D slicer but the results were not very satisfactory. So i want reimplement it in SlicerRT because the planar contours is the master representation.

I thought modify thie existing method https://github.com/SlicerRt/SlicerRT/blob/master/DicomRtImportExport/ConversionRules/vtkPlanarContourToClosedSurfaceConversionRule.h