I am not sure when the 5.0 will bereleased but I would like to remind that the save dialog box still suffers from the confusing filename reversion behavior that was discussed previous (I cannot find the thread though).
If you want to try, download MRHead.nrrd, go to save dialog box, change folder, then the delete everything in the filename tab including the extension and rename something without the extension, and save and then try to find the saved file with that name… What will happen, slicer will quickly rename it to original name, and if the file is never saved before you will not get a warning message about file being overwritten. While the data is indeed saved, from a user point of view all is lost.
And we can’t really blame the users not including the extension when they rename, because the field says filename and then right next to it is a field that says format (which practicallly is the extension).
At the time of the thread my suggestion was disabling the ability of editing filenames as the dialog box, and forcing the user to change the node name at the subject hierarchy. Alternatively, if they don’t include an extension and we expect them they should, then make that expectation clear (error message perhaps, refuse to save). Or automatically add the suffix based on the selected format. Current behavior is not acceptable.