Display Dicom data just received by websocket connection

Hello, I’m rather new to Slicer. I just developed a loadable module in C++ that connect to a MRI using websocket and receive dicom image data. Now i just need to display those dicoms.

So correct me if i’m wrong, i need to :

-Create a Node (not sure which kind), fill it with some dicom data (for now i’ve QbyteArrays)

-Add the node to the MRML scene

-That it ?

Thank you for any hints and answers.

You need to create a vtkMRMLScalarVolumeNode as shown here. I’m not sure how to set the pixel data in vtkImageData from a QByteArray but @pieper did something similar in the past so maybe he can help.

A much simpler approach is to write the byte array to a file, create a text header file (e.g., a NRRD image file header) and read the header file into Slicer using slicer.util.loadVolume("path/to/something.nhdr").

Here’s something similar. It takes the contents of a nrrd as the body of an http POST and converts it into a volume node.

1 Like

Thank you for your answer, i used dcmtk to get the pixel data from the dicom and copied it in the vtkImageData. I don’t know the use of DisplayNodes but i get “vtkMRMLScalarVolumeNode::CreateDefaultDisplayNodes failed: scene is invalid” when i try to create one.

But the major problem is that slicer crash when i try to add a new Node to the scene. So it may be related to fact that the scene is invalid but i don’t know why it is that way, it is the only time interact with the scene.

I work on Ubuntu using QtCreator
Here is part of my code :

vtkNew<vtkMRMLScalarVolumeNode> dicomNode;

vtkSmartPointer<vtkImageData> imageData =  vkSmartPointer<vtkImageData>::New();
imageData->SetOrigin(0.0,0.0,0.0);
imageData->SetSpacing(2.34375,2.34375,2.34375);
imageData->SetDimensions(583,583,1);
imageData->AllocateScalars(VTK_TYPE_UINT16,1);
if( dcmImage != nullptr )
          {
              if( dcmImage->getStatus() == EIS_Normal )
              {