DTI, averaging of b0 images

Hi, I have been performing tractography with Slicer 4.10.2 (Windows). I have to say the results have been super impressive.I would like to know how slicer deals with multiple b0 scans.
I have 63 volumes. Under “Volumes” module with the “DWI Component” slider, I see the b0 volumes are at #0, 31, and 62. The scans were done under sedation and there is no clearly detectable movement or eddy artifact.

– Does slicer average these b0 volumes?
If not, how can I do that?

– I am new to DTI, and I hope to publish my data. Is there a reference to the standard methodology that 3Dslicer uses? I am guessing it is not TBSS? I will also be checking my results with UKF, but should I just go right to UKF? My subjects have known white matter disease in the context of metabolic / mitochondrial disorders.

Lastly (and not a big issue) when converting exported DICOM diffusion volumes from the NilRead viewer, I get a lot of these errors:

Diffusion-weighted DICOM Import (DWIConvert) standard error:
E: can’t change to unencapsulated representation for pixel data
E: can’t determine ‘PhotometricInterpretation’ of decompressed image
E: mandatory attribute ‘PhotometricInterpretation’ is missing or can’t be determined…

Is that because the DICOM download needs a special header for 3DSlicer?

Thanks very much for your help.
John Kelly

Hi! There’s no need to average the b0 images. SlicerDMRI can use them all.

The use of DTI vs UKF tractography depends on your goal and on the type of scan. Let us know the b-values and number of gradient directions.

No Slicer does not use TBSS. Give us more of an idea of the goal and we can help with methods description.

Please try the dcm2nii module and let us know if the DICOM reading works better for you.

Thanks for the quick reply.

b-value is 1000 and 30 directions. Unfortunately Other scans will be at 10 directions, but still appears to have good results