Dynamically Updating UI

In general, is there an efficient way to dynamically update the UI? I want to allow the user to enter in a value in a text field (QLineEdit), hit a button, and update a separate field (I’m using QLabel) in the UI to reflect that change (in addition to performing some other logic which I have yet to implement). However, I noticed sometimes there is lagging. If I merely print this new value to the python interactor, it basically occurs instantly. However, updating the UI takes more than 10 seconds sometimes.

This shouldn’t take so long, can you post your code here?

Excuse me if any of this is bad practice as I am still learning how to create a module. Here is the portion of the code for this UI update:

widget = slicer.util.loadUI(“filepath”)
self.layout.addWidget(widget)
self.ui = slicer.util.childWidgetVariables(widget)

And then in the function that is tied to the button:
newValue = self.ui.newField.text
self.ui.oldValue.setText(newValue)
self.ui.newField.setText("") (to clear the new field once the user hits the button)

Also not sure if this is relevant and maybe this is affecting the performance, but I created multiple .ui files to use in my module for organizational purposes. Should I only be using 1 or does it not matter?

I don’t see anything that would cause the label to not update, so it could be the structure. You can see how it should work with a simple example:

def onToggle():
  str = input.text
  label.setText(str)
  input.setText("Input")

menu = ctk.ctkCollapsibleButton()
menuLayout = qt.QFormLayout(menu)
input = qt.QLineEdit('Input')
label = qt.QLabel("UI Label ")
b=qt.QPushButton('Toggle') 
b.connect('clicked()',onToggle)

menuLayout.addWidget(input)
menuLayout.addWidget(label)
menuLayout.addWidget(b)
menu.show()

Would you recommend that I use pyqt? I’ve seen several tutorials reference it, but the original tutorial I used didn’t utilize it so I didn’t either.