Equation for medial axis from SPHARM-PDM

Operating system: MacOS Catalina
Slicer version: 4.10.2

Hi there,

I’ve been using SPHARM-PDM and first want to say a really, truly huge thank you – both for the tool and for the extremely helpful Google slide tutorial, great answers to posts on here, and other documentation. I’m a cell biologist and have managed to use the tool to analyze the shape of tomograms of single parasitic cells, which is pretty amazing! I’ve also been able to import the meshes that SPHARM generated into FEM software for some fluid dynamics simulations. I tried so many things (and kept failing) before I stumbled on Slice and SPHARM… so you can imagine how grateful I feel to your team!

Second, I have a quick question. Is there some clever way to extract the medial axis line as a list of x, y, z coordinates? For the FEM simulations I mentioned above, I’d like to find an equation for the medial axis so that I can use it to define a coordinate system. I might fit a curve to x, y, z coordinates in matlab, for example. (If not, maybe I need to work harder to figure out how to do this starting with the .vtk file.)

Thanks so much for any advice! Apologies if this question is eye-rolling-ly simple :slight_smile:
Best,
Christina

Quick update: as an alternative to extracting details about the medial axis and using that to set up a coordinate system for subsequent FEM simulations, maybe I could figure out how to use the mapped spherical coordinates already used for SPHARM’s central algorithm. Is there a way to access those, if the original idea in the post above is not possible?

There are text files with a long 1D list of phi’s and theta’s in the output folder from SPHARM mesh generation, which I know are used as color maps in the Shape Population viewer, but I’m not sure how to make use of those. Is there a way to obtain the actual spherical mapping information used during the SPHARM process?