Export Hounsfield Unit values as a table from each segmentation

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner at using 3D Slicer. Before that, I used to work with Mimics. I was wondering is it possible to extract/export the whole set of Hounsfield Unit values from a segmentation performed via threshold tool? I want to use them for calculating bone density. There is a possibility in Mimics that can export a 4 columns table (XYZ and HU value for each element that was created in Mimics after making the mask) and I am looking for the same function in 3D Slicer.

Thanks in advance,

Best,
Somayeh

Yes, of course, getting intensities of voxels in a segmented region is very simple, and the best is that you donā€™t even need to export the file, then load it into your own Python script for analysis and display, but you can do everything using a small Python code snippet within Slicer (copy-paste the code into the built-in Python console, use a Jupyter notebook, or create a small Python-scripted module with a custom GUI).

For example, to get all voxel values of the master volume corresponding to a segment:

# Get segmentation as labelmap volume node
labelmapVolumeNode = slicer.mrmlScene.AddNewNodeByClass("vtkMRMLLabelMapVolumeNode")
slicer.modules.segmentations.logic().ExportVisibleSegmentsToLabelmapNode(segmentationNode, labelmapVolumeNode, masterVolumeNode)

# Extract all voxels of the segment as numpy array
volumeArray = slicer.util.arrayFromVolume(masterVolumeNode)
labelArray = slicer.util.arrayFromVolume(labelmapVolumeNode)
segmentVoxels = volumeArray[labelArray==labelValue]

See a complete example (that includes generating sample data, extracting voxel values of a segment, computing histogram, and plotting the results) here.

Dear Andras,

Thanks for your answer.

I did not work with Python, so I am a very beginner in this area.