Fiducial/point for centroid

Hello,

I’ve segmented the attached brain from CT data and used SegmentStatistics to calculate the volume and centroid coordinates. I have 2 questions.

1- How can I place a fiducial/point to illustrate the centroid of the object below?

2- How can I convert the centroid coordinates (in this case 7.31849, 136.127, -103.381) to tangible measurements (such as cm)?

I am new to the slicer community and specific details would be very helpful! Thank you!

Screen Shot 2022-09-07 at 5.17.45 PM

If you already know the coordinates of the centroid, go to Markups tool, create a new PointList object and simply type the coordinates or copy/paste the values.

A single point itself is not going to give you measurements. If you create other landmarks on the surface of the brain (by adding to the PointList), you can easily calculate the linear distance between any pair, by highlighting it in the Control Points table and right clicking on them. The units in Slicer are in millimeters (by default). So the reported measurements will also be in millimeters.

Thank you for your help! I was able to follow those instructions almost completely. How would you recommend obtaining the precise coordinates in mm for the centroid point attached?

Just bumping this thread! Thank you to all who are able to help.

It’s not clear to me what you are asking - it looks like you already have the centroid of the segment in the statistics table.

Thank you for your response, Steve. I agree I was not very clear. I generated the coordinates of the centroid, however I’m interested in better understanding how these coordinates can be understood in mm. It sounds the only way to understand this is the distance of the centroid relative to other structures (ie, placing points at these structures and measuring the distance between).

If so, what is the best way to place a point at a precise location (e.g. the euryon) on the brain above?

Thank you.