How to add a GUI panel to the Slicer VR scene

Hi there,

I’m a beginner in 3D Slicer and I am learning how to develop modules to implement my own workflow.
Currently, I use the ‘Extension Wizard’ to create a simple module for extracting the surface of image data (Other features are still in development).
What I’d like to do next is to transfer my module from the desktop mode to the VR scene created by Slicer VR.
However, I’m still not sure about the feasibility of adding Qt components/widgets or GUI panels to the VR scene to achieve the same functions as my desktop module.
In other words, the following figure is the module (a python scripted module) I have created so far. How can I transfer it to the VR scene next?

My scripted module
What should I do, do you have any suggestions or useful tutorials about my question?
Thank you very much in advance!!!

Best regards,
Charles

Or Is it possible to add VTKWidgets(like the ‘vtkSliderWidget’ and the ‘vtkSliderRepresentation3D’ for creating a slider) to the VR scenes created by Slicer VR:

VTKwidgets

and the above VTKwidgets need to achieve the same function as the widgets in the UI of desktop mode?

In other words, the following figure is the module (a python scripted module) I have created so far. How can I transfer it to the VR scene next?

Because the module I created will only include the sliders/buttons/combo boxes/checkboxes, so are there any suggestions to achieve/transfer these to the VR scene?

I recall that @cpinter and others were working on this, but I’m not sure of the status.

If you are interested in collaborating on these topics, Project Week is coming up. On Jan 11 there’s going to be a discussion of VR/AR related topics at the prep call (10 am EST).

1 Like