Improving manual segmentation of the aorta

For aortic dissection, the measurement of aortic diameter (outer wall to outwall) in several levels is clinical relevent.

Automatic segmentation works well for the aortic lumen but will miss the aotic wall and intimal flap.

as far as i know, to make the measurement from outer wall to outer wall, the best workflow is manual segmentation+centerline extraction+measurement.

If i have a large database, how can i improve this workflow (by decrease time) ?

I have read some papers about deep learning method for achieve this goal, but i am majoring in vascular surgery and not capable of performing these techniques. Is there any simple step that i can do to achieve my goal?

Thanks and look forward to hear from you experts.

Segmenting large-diameter contrasted vessels should be straightforward. The main concern is visibility of vessel walls. Could you provide an anonymized sample data set and an example segmentation/measurements that you need? That could give us an idea of the difficulty of the problems and how to resolve them.

Deep learning is becoming the standard method for automatic image segmentation. If you have access to lots of data sets (maybe a few hundred images are enough) and you are willing to spend time with segmentation using manual/semi-automatic methods then you have everything to train a neural network. We have examples of tech-savvy surgeons training networks successfully (with some help from engineers), so you may give it a try. @rbumm maybe you could share your experience/give some advice to a fellow surgeon.

Thanks for the ping, will answer in more detail on Tuesday!

2 Likes

Dear Andras Lasso
I (and other doctors major in aortic disease) need to measure several levels in specific way as the guidelines recommended

b