Machine Learning Project - Questions about integrating Slicer into workflow

Hi everyone,

I am a medical student from Connecticut with a (relatively) recent change of heart regarding medicine. That being said, for the past 7 months I have been studying math (linear algebra, prob/stats, calculus), programming (Python and Matlab), machine learning, natural language processing, and the nature of digital imaging. I am working on a project involving knee MRIs. To keep things short, our team is trying to automate the interpretation of anterior cruciate ligament injury (ACL) in MR images, as well as automatically generate a text report from the viusal interpretation much like a radiologist would. I am working on the imaging side of this project, but since I am new to this and working in semi-isolation, I have a lot of questions that have been accumulating over the past few months. I stumbled onto Slicer via a recommendation last month and was amazed by the software. I believe it is an essential component for this project.

First, I want to outline the project very briefly. Like I said, our data is MR images/volumes of the knee. We have secured an IRB to gain access to ~15,000 studies (retrospective). The data is formatted according to DICOM standards. We plan on seperating the studies into “ACL torn” and “ACL intact”. Then using supervised methods (we are still looking into this but will be some variation of CNN/RNN), we plan on training an algorithm to classify the MR volumes accordingly. Along the way, I personally would like to come up with a way to automatically segment the ACL as well, a difficult task for those who know the MR images of the knee joint.

Here are my questions: