Markups module lagging when placing anatomical landmarks

Hello! I’m hoping to get some clarification on some issues I’ve been having with markups in Slicer. I am very new to using the program so any help is appreciated.

I have two ages of mouse skulls (E17.5 and P28) for which we have CT scan data, and the volume rendering shows all the external structures of the head. TIFF stacks were imported using the SlicerMorph module for both ages, and the image spacing was added from our voxel sizes as shown in our .pcr files. I landmarked both using the markups module. For the E17.5, I had no issues creating only a volume rendering, adjusting the shift to see the skull, and landmarking directly on the rendering of the skull (possibly because there is less bone at this age). I also had no issues with Slicer lagging/not responding or with the markups module lagging at all.

For the P28 I was having trouble visualizing the skull structures I needed to see in the volume rendering before placing a landmark in the markups module. My solution was to segment out the skull and save it as a model, then landmark directly on the model itself. When I did this though, I ran into a couple of issues.

First, the markups module began lagging and taking 15-20 seconds to place a landmark, and I often had to re-take landmarks that were not placed properly due to the lag. Second, Slicer stopped responding, and I often had to wait until the program finished whatever it was doing before adjusting landmarks or moving the model around.

At one point, the program would switch back and forth between the fiducial tool (where the landmark displays as a green dot) and attempting to place a landmark for a minute or two before it placed the landmark, after which I had to edit the placement because of the lagging. It was almost as if my placement of the landmark didn’t register in Slicer, and I had to be careful not to click anywhere else until the landmark was placed.