Modelling the Anterior Muscle Compartment

Hi there. I’m completely new to 3D slicer, let me preface that. My objective is to create a model of the anterior muscle compartment of the leg. I have found an MRI scan of the lower leg, shown in the attached image.

My question: how would I go about isolating the anterior muscle from the leg so that I can model it. Any general tips or advice is very much appreciated!

EdScreenshot 2021-11-09 at 20.49.08

The most commonly used tool for segmenting an individual muscle is “Fill between slices” effect in Segment Editor module. One reason is that there is no contrast difference between adjacent muscles, therefore automatic separation would be challenging. The other reason is that muscles tend to be long structures with a cross-section shape that changes slowly along the long axis, therefore, it is often enough to just segment 6-8 cross sections to get a complete reconstruction of the entire muscle shape in 3D.

I would recommend to get started with this page, then learn about segmentation in general on this page. If you have any questions or run into any problems you can post follow-up questions here.

Thank you so much for your helpful reply, I was able to create an approximate model of the compartment. The problem is, it’s very approximate, and I’m trying to get it a bit more accurate. To do this I had the idea of either highlighting the compartment itself somehow, or find a way to highlight the membrane that surrounds the compartment - that being the interosseous membrane and the anterior intermuscular septum. If I could do either of these things I could then accurately use the draw tool to create a model of the anterior compartment. Do you have any suggestions?

Thanks in advance!
Ed

In Segment Editor, the current segment is shown in all the views (with filled contour). Do you have some other highlighting in mind?