Multiply two images using "Multiply Scalar Volumes" or "Mask Scalar Volume" and save the resulting image (using Python)

I am a beginner trying to automate some tasks in 3D Slicer using Python.

I have a mask image and another input volume image both in nifti format.
how can I use python to automate the multiplication between two images and save the output to a folder?

so far I was able to load the two images.

slicer.mrmlScene.Clear(False)
[success, volume] = slicer.util.loadVolume(filename = 'stripped_AX_FLAIR_stretched.nii',returnNode=True) 
slicer.app.layoutManager().setLayout(slicer.vtkMRMLLayoutNode.SlicerLayoutOneUpRedSliceView)
[success, labelmapVolumeNode] = slicer.util.loadLabelVolume(filename = 'Edema_AX_FLAIR_label.nii', returnNode=True)

You can use arrayFromVolume function as shown in this example in the script repository.

1 Like

Thanks for the reply Lasso, Certainly this is the way to proceed. but while executing the script. i get an error that the segment volume dimension is not aligned.

“”"
ValueError: shapes (26,512,512) and (13,179,150) not aligned: 512 (dim 2) != 179 (dim 1)

“”"
what can i do to overcome this error?

It seems that the two volumes have different sizes. How did you create them?

initially, I had a master_volume file and a label_file (which contains multiple labels).

to extract segment_volumes of each individual label from the label_file, I separated each label from label_file using the segment editor module and converted them back to individual label files and saved them to my folder directory.
(this process has been executed completely in Python)

Currently, I am trying to automate the task of masking the individual labels (extracted from label_file) on to the master_volume to extract the segment_volumes using python and save them as a nifti file.

for example
the first image is the individual label separated from label_file.
the second image is the result when masked with master_volume.

Screen Shot 2020-03-23 at 5.15.42 PM