Readjusting threshold on singular segment

How are you able to readjust the threshold of a singular segment excluding others?

For context: trying to analyze singular bones from scan of multiple bones in a tube. Used threshold to select the bones and then segmented out the bones individually using islands. Unfortunately one of the bones was also touching the bottom of the tube, and when I tried to segment it there was a still a large portion of the tube attached to the bottom of the bone. I was able to delete the tube portion of the segment paint back in around the bottom of the bone. However, I am studying bone structure and only need the actual bone selected - not the blank space inside the bone. Currently, my segment does not include the tube anymore, but the portion of the segment I painted in contains more than the bone - there is also some space outside and blank space inside that is now a part of my segment.

So my question is - for the segment that contains my bone that I repainted the end on, is there a way to readjust the threshold so it is again just the bone I’m looking at? Ideally I would like to have a segment that contains only this bone with no portion of the tube or empty space in the middle.

I find it hard to follow what happened exactly and what you would like to achieve. Could you please attach a screenshot to illustrate what you described?

It sounds like your starting threshold may not be appropriate for the selecting bone. As oppose to fixing it after the fact, you can use the local threshold option in the threshold effect and sample a small region within the cortical bone to get the distribution of the intensities associated with the bone. If you do in few different places, you will get values that represent the cortical bone more robustly. If you do this, I suspect you won’t need to second guess your threshold values and circumvent the problem.