Renaming segments based on .txt file

Dear all,
I’m new to Slicer which I learning and finding fantastic, steep learning curve though. So I hope this is not too obvious but I have a lot of segments which are numbered and I would like to rename them based on a txt file, is this possible ?

I previously found this thread

but I am not sure how this would address my point.

Thanks for your help
best

This is a good question. If you have a color table (specifying name and color for each label value) then load that first into the application and then when you load the segmentation select this color table as Color node in the Options section.

Specification of the color table file format is available here.

Unfortunately, I have in excess of 800 segments so the color table would not be convenient. I have these segments (and apologies if I am mixing terms such as segments and objects) under a seg.nrrd. file where all segments are within one file or +800 single .obj files so I guess my best best is to rename the individual files which can be easily done using a text file and a bit of command lines.
Thanks

There is no link attached. I am also curious to learn this…

Good catch, I’ve fixed the link above.

You might have misunderstood how a color table can be created or used. It is just a text file that you should be able to very easily create using Excel or any text editor, from the list of segment names that you already have. You can then load it into the scene and select it when loading the segmentation to use it for naming segments.

You can of course modify segment names in the .seg.nrrd file as well, as segment names are stored in plain text. To allow easier editing, you can save the segmentation file in .seg.nhdr format, which has the header in a separate text file.