Rotation of a CT image around the RT isocenter, in python

Hi all,
I am a 3D Slicer beginner, so please bear with me…

I have a CT image (in DICOM series format) used for radiation treatment planning. I wish to
read it, apply to it an arbitrary 3D rotation around the isocenter, then resave it as a DICOM series (to read it back into the TPS).
I wish to do it by python scripting (because I’ll have many different rotations to explore, so I want to automate the procedure).
I am learning by doing, because at present I don’t have much time to fully understand the software before starting coding.

By reading what I coud find in the Forum and in the documentation, I understood how to:

1. prepare things:

import argparse, sys, shutil, os, logging
    import vtk, qt, ctk, slicer
    import DICOMLib
    from DICOMLib import DICOMUtils

2. parse the command line:

def main(argv):
    print(‘STARTING!’)
    try:
    parser = argparse.ArgumentParser(description=“to be done”)
    parser.add_argument("-i", “–input-folder”, dest=“input_folder”, metavar=“PATH”,
    default="-", required=True, help=“Folder of input DICOM files (can contain sub-folders)”)
    parser.add_argument("-o", “–output-folder”, dest=“output_folder”, metavar=“PATH”,
    default=".", help=“Folder to save converted datasets”)
    args = parser.parse_args(argv)
    if args.input_folder == “-”:
    print(‘Please specify input DICOM study folder!’)
    if args.output_folder == “.”:
    print(‘Current directory is selected as output folder (default). To change it, please specify --output-folder’)

3. read the dicom series:

logging.info("Import DICOM data from " + args.input_folder)
    DICOMUtils.openTemporaryDatabase()
    DICOMUtils.importDicom(args.input_folder)
    logging.info(“Load first patient into Slicer”)
    patient = slicer.dicomDatabase.patients()[0]
    DICOMUtils.loadPatientByUID(patient)