Saving landmark files for ALPACA - details requested

Still a newbie here … I created a landmark template for a fifth cervical vertebra and want to transfer the landmarks to more C5 vertebrae via ALPACA.

I see in the ALPACA tutorial that the source mesh is a .ply and the source landmark file is .fcsv, but I have several landmarks saved as .json.

Could you be more specific as to how to save the landmark template files to use in ALPACA?

Thank you SO much!
Pamela
Equus Soma Osteology & Anatomy Learning Center

The final outcome is called Final ALPACA landmark estimate and that’s what’s displayed in the screen when the ALPACA execution is completed.

Are you following this tutorial: Tutorials/ALPACA at main · SlicerMorph/Tutorials · GitHub

There appears to be confusion that the tutorial uses sample data that includes a .fcsv file however the original poster is doing their own work and only has .mrk.json files.

1 Like

from ALPACA’s operability perspective fcsv and json (or .mrk.json) are the same. To encourage its usage, we have the default option to save the files in .json format (when ALPACA is run in batch mode).

This can be set back to FCSV if the user chooses to do so.

It may be clearer for new users if the sample data for the ALPACA tutorial was also in the latest file formats. In this case updating the ALPACA tutorial to use .mrk.json files may be more helpful to match how things look when using latest Slicer today.

1 Like

Yes, I started following that tutorial.

I first watched this video which describes exactly what I want to do. https://youtu.be/ZRikzsUBeAE?si=GASvFcEDnk9ymzL9.

I realize it is 3 years old, but nevertheless the gentleman is demonstrating how to transfer the landmarks between 2 bones and he uses the single alignment which “requires” .fcsv format for the landmarks.