Slicer kernel for jupyter notebook and python debugger setup in vscode

Hi,

I have a few questions for getting a working setup of the jupyter notebook extension and Slicer working within VSCode. I’m still fairly new to making the switch from MATLAB to python, so some of these may be fairly obvious questions I am missing.

My main questions are:

1. How to make sure I am pointing to the correct kernel to run a .ipynb file within vscode
  2. How to enable a debugger for jupyter lab in either vscode or within jupyter lab when running a slicer kernel

For the first question:
Currently on my Mac I recently installed Slicer 5.0.3 which I think overwrote Slicer 4.11. When running a jupyter notebook in jupyter lab with a slicer 5.0 kernel, the notebook works as expected. However, my Mac (and our lab’s PC I’ve set this up on) seems to think there are two available slicer kernels

When trying to run a jupyternotebook in vscode, it seems to only recognize the 4.11 kernel, and when I check the directory it is pointing the executable file it points to I believe should now be 5.0

For the second question:
From what I read, it seems that a debugger for a .ipynb (GitHub - SlicerRt/SlicerDebuggingTools: Extension for 3D Slicer containing various tools for module development and debugging ) is different than the python debugger (GitHub - SlicerRt/SlicerDebuggingTools: Extension for 3D Slicer containing various tools for module development and debugging )? Is this true and is it possible to setup debugging with a slicer kernel?

A minor question: when I launch vscode with the 4.11 kernel, it wants to launch 4 instances of slicer that shutdown quickly, and reduce to one running instance, but I’m wondering if there’s a way to get stop this behavior

I really appreciate the help! Please, let me know how to proceed or if there are posts I might have missed that address this.

Best