Slicer main UI freezes during python scripted module execution

Hi Slicer developers,

I’m currently developing a python module that performs quite heavy computation over image volumes.

The module computations work as expected giving correct results. However, the main slicer window freezes during execution. When execution finishes, the main UI returns to normal. I would like to retain the UI functionality during execution in order to add a stop button that can halt the exection at user request, and maybe include a progress bar.

I am quite new at slicer developing and I don’t know how to handle this issue. I have already tried to execute the run function of the module logic in a separate thread using the threading library but I couldn get it working and I have read it is not a good approach in Slicer. I have also read that creating a separate cli module is a solution for this, but unfortunately, I very little experience on C++ language apart from some Qt basic knowledge.

Any clues on solving this issue?? or some python code examples I can read???

Thanks in advance for the help!

Miguel

Hi Miguel,

the issue is that Slicer GUI is on the same thread that you will run the computation.
CLI modules work because they use another thread.
I don’t know if there is a simple solution in Python.

But, in the case you feel to experiment with a pure C++ (loadable) module
(or I guess you can convert the code to python),
you may have a look here:

essentially I have a worker class that run the computation on a separate QThread.
The module needs still some cleaning and the widget has many methods for others things,
therefore it can be hard to go through it. However, the methods that you may be interested are (in the widget class):
onApply
onWorkFinished
onMRMLAstroModelingParametersNodeModified
and the init() to check how to setup the worker and the thread.