Turn 2d image slices into 3d model

Dear community,

i am new to 3d slicer and i have a set of image slices (2D), which are from a probe cut in 100 um steps, and i want to put these images together and do a 3d model. What steps do I need to follow to create a 3D reconstruction from 2D image slices using 3D Slicer, and how can I ensure that the final model retains the colors of the original images so that I can view it in 3D?

I saw a lot of tutorials but im still getting a wrong 3d model when im doing volume rendering. I can upload the images

I uploaded the images in case anyone wants to take a look on them

Thank you so much!!

Best regards,
Ayman

These are histology slides (I think), so if you simply uncheck the “grayscale” option in the ImageStacks module of SlicerMorph, you will get color (RGB) images. However, slides are not co-registered; i.e., the orientation of the tissue is different from one slide to the next. Hence, you will not get a good volume rendering out of these, because when stacked together they do not constitute a proper 3D ‘volume’. (see the jagged edges in green and yellow slice. If you move up and down in the red slice view, you will see the tissue rotating from one slide to the next).

You can try to register one slide to the next one and keep moving in the stack. I think ImageJ has a specific function to do that. I am not sure if there is anything in the Slicer to help you in aligning the slides (there a lots of registration tools, but they are usually for registering one 3D volume to another). Others on the forum that are more familiar with histology data can chime in.

Hey Murat,

thank you so much for your answer! I have been trying to reach the same result in your screenshot, but im still getting the sharp edges of the images in my model.

Can i ask you, did you do anything else than uploading the images and choose 0.1 mm? Did you register the images before doing the 3d model in your screenshot?