Usage of volumetric meshes

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to 3D slicer and haven’t figured out many of the function yet.
I found this blog post on volumetric mesh support and I would like to experiment with its capabilities.

Can someone might give me an explanation on how I get such a volumentric mesh? I always end up with an normal surface mesh.

Thank you,
Julian

Slicer version: 4.7.0-2017-06-26 r26137

There are several extensions that advertise the capability of generating a volume mesh, but I don’t know whether they are functional and/or maintained.

https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Extensions/CleaverExtension
https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Extensions/PBNRR

There are well-established tools outside of Slicer that can be used for volumetric mesh generation, such as TetGen and CGAL:

http://wias-berlin.de/software/tetgen/

Specifically for generating volumetric meshes from image data, you can look at iso2mesh, although it is not self-contained and you will need matlab/octave (I personally do not have any experience with this package):

http://iso2mesh.sourceforge.net/cgi-bin/index.cgi

and CGAL (there is a section of the manual of generating meshes from labeled image data, I don’t know if they provide any ready to use command line tools):

http://doc.cgal.org/latest/Mesh_3/index.html

Hi Julian,

I thought I would share my experience that I have had lately with volumetric meshing and include the problems I am having

I tried using cleaver with limited success. I had a lot of trouble with the extension initially. After I spoke with Andras Lasso I was able to get the meshing working. The main thing I did to get cleaver to work with my data was to create a label map with a value of 75 on the inside and -75 on the outside. I used simple filters to do the shifting and scaling.