Using Slicer modules with Python interpreter or Jupyter Notebook (Help!)

Hi,

I am trying to automize Slicer functions that I regularly do manually using Python scripts and I have been facing some problems that have been slowing me down quite a bit. I have been reading through the forums and documentation but I cannot seem to find a proper way to consistently understand how to use the functions embedded in the different modules that Slicer offers. I am no expert in Python, but right now I am only able to successfully use Slicer modules with Python scripts if I happen to come across some use case example that resembles what I am trying to accomplish.

My question is, could someone perhaps give me some insight on their experience as to how would you find your way through using a specific module? Or maybe link some useful documentation to this regard? Maybe what I am asking is a bit too general and it heavily depends on the module itself, but I am really stuck and a bit overwhelmed by documentation at the moment.

If it helps to put a specific (simple) scenario, I am trying to use the surface toolbox module to invert normals from the surface I generate with the segmentation, so that when I extract the .obj or .stl file, normals are facing outwards (shouldn’t that be default?). After that I would like to use VMTK to auto-detect endpoints and extract centerlines, but I have not looked into this last part just yet.

Thank you,