Write python bindings

Hi,

I have some Qt derived classes (widgets) written in C++ and used in SlicerCAT and I would like to bind them in python.

I have some experience of working with pybind11 and I do use it in my libraries that are not connected to Qt.
There is also automatic code generator rosetta-binder based on pybind11.

I also know that Qt also provides its method to convert C++ to python using Shiboken tool. Though I have not tested it yet.

So I would appreciate if someone could give an advice wich way is better and what should I use to convert C++ Qt based widget to python and use it in SlicerCAT

Is there a reason you choose to create your Qt based widget in C++ rather than creating the widget in python? Are you using it in other C++ code?

You can create a custom QWidget from the python interface for use in other python code.

1 Like

That is the question that I ask myself.
I think there are two reasons:

1. I already implemented them in C++
  2. I think that in the future I encounter a situation when I will need to bind C++ class to python and thus it means that I will simply postpone this task if I decide not to use bindings now.

@keri did you look at how other Qt classes are wrapped in Slicer using PythonQt? This would be more consistent, and hopefully easier, than introducing another python wrapping method. I haven’t tried it in SlicerCAT, but I believe all the same functionality is available.

1 Like

Hi,

I have made an attempt but didn’t find a file (or class) where it is done. If you know an example in Slicer please say where to look for it.

Also as I know PyQt, PySide2 (official) and PythonQt they are all different projects am I right? Which ones Slicer is using?