Anisotropic voxel

Hi everyone. I am studying a MRI dataset. All the images have the same spacing (0,80x0,46x0,46) cause everything is reported in FLAIR space. Also a given ground truth segmentation for lesions has this spacing condition. To analyze this segmentation features I’ve loaded Flair image as volume and this consensus as label map. Now I have two questions:

1. this consensus can be considered anisotropic cause z is almost twice x and y? An import in segmentation module is required to have an isotropic voxel imposing the isotropic geometry flag for segmentation geometry (passing trough the “white cube” in segment editor)? My goal is to extract features, so this condition, in my opinion, is important. Any suggestions about this?

2. using islands effects splitting islands to segment and imposing minimum voxel size (for the initial consensus segmentation) all the generated segments are isotropic (1mm)? again: is necessary to impose space isotropy before applying this effect? I’ve tried both these two operations (with or without imposition) but in the subject hierarchy I always see the segmentation node with islands that seems containing only one segment… how can I resolve?

Thanks everyone in advantage for a request.

In general isotropic voxels are not required for segmentation or radiomics.

I’m not really following the rest of your questions. Perhaps some screenshots would help.

Thank you for the answer, Pieper!
Yes, I’ll take some screen as soon as possible.

Meanwhile I’ve forgot a question. Since my voxel are isotropic only in plane xy, a force 2d setting in parameter file is required (setting it true) or not(leaving default false)?
Thank you if you’ll answer me again.

Have a nice day