Automating 3D Model Animations

Hi all, I am looking to create an automated animation (video) that includes rotating a model around a tumor at a 45-degree angle, adjusting the opacity of various volumes in the scene, inserting titles during the video, and performing other similar tasks. What tools or methods would you recommend to achieve this?

Generally speaking you can write a python script to implement exactly what you have in mind.

You can look at the Animator module to get ideas about how to control various visualization options and generate a sequence that can be exported using the ScreenCapture module to make movies.

A lot of the complexity comes from variability in the input data making it hard to create consistently nice movies automatically.

Thank you for your response.

Could you clarify what you mean? I’m new to animation.

Could SlicerMorph be of help as well?

The Animator module is part of SlicerMorph, if you are just making Animations you probably don’t need any of the other features it provides so you can just ignore them.

The Animator already provides some of what you describe, but it may not be expressive enough to cover everything. It’s based on key frame values so there’s an interpolation of the parameters so that things like opacity change frame by frame. But it’s set up to be used interactively and it’s a bit limited. So that’s why I suggest you look at the python code so you can see how to manipulate the view and export the exact animation you have in mind.

The latest code for Animator is in: SlicerMorph/Animator at master · SlicerMorph/SlicerMorph · GitHub

The other repo Steve linked, is an earlier prototype.

Animator can do the opacity/volume rendering changes, cliipping as well as rotation. but it doesn’t do the inserting the text (though it will render markup labels, if you keep them on).