Brain tumor volumetric segmentation

I watched a Slicer video on a brain tumor segmentation - that video used a Volumetric Segmentation module (Slicer3D 4.6.x). I dont find it in the latest version. What has replaced that? Are there more detailed documentation on doing basic volume segmentation I can look at and learn - been looking at videos but some of these are from eearlier versions of sliicer and am not able to map that to the new version (am running the latest stable(4.10.2). I am trying to segment a 3D volume and illustrate models of that segmentation (like a tumor). As I am new to Slicer, its a little overwhelming…

Thanks.

-- krs

Slicer’s segmentation tools have been tremendously improved in the last few years, so those old tutorials are not that relevant anymore.

You can find up-to-date, step-by-step instructions for segmenting brain tumor, cyst, ventricles, doing diffusion tractography, etc. in the Neurosurgical planning tutorial.

Thanks a lot. That tutorial was very helpful. One question. After I did the tutorial myself, I noticed some parts of the tumor were not segmented. The tutorial used the Grow/Cut and Threshold tools to build segmentation. How can I now augment the segmentation to ensure the remaining slices were also segmented and build a more accurate segmentation.

A second question is… are there more detailed description of each of the segmentation tools that appear in the segementation editor (that I can look up and help me decide which ones to use). I am working with very noisy data, hence its going to take some combination of segmentation algorithms to get a reasonable segmentation.

Thanks.
- krs

There is no such thing as a perfect segmentation, just one that meets clinical requirements. While using “Grow from seeds” you are expected to keep painting more seeds until you find the segmentation accurate enough for your purpose.