Can 3D Slicer be hosted on a rendering server?

Hi,
Can the slicer3D be hosted off a render server so that multiple clients can access it with less powerful client hardware?

Thank you

That’s fairly easy to do on Linux using VirtualGL and TurboVNC.
https://virtualGL.org

@muratmaga @pieper Do you have experience in setting up a docker swarm with web VNC and reverse proxy so that multiple users can log on through the same webpage, each seeing his own Slicer instance?

We could host such a server in our lab, but we would need help with setting it up.

It could be used to demonstrate that Slicer can “run in a web browser” and it could be also configured to do segmentation or other tasks initiated from OHIF DICOM web viewer (download the data set, allow user to interact with it, then push back the data). It would be awesome to have this for RSNA.

Sorry, I have no experience with docker. But would love to see what you describe in action…

I don’t have a fully worked out example now, but have discussed working on this at project week with Emel to test with ePad.

I was planning to set something up using google cloud technologies so it would scale and basically be open to anyone willing to sign up for an account (at least for the first $300 worth of testing) can try it out. But the same basic functionality should also be good to work with a server at Perk if you want to open it up. Main issues I can think of are dealing with user accounts, TLS, allocating ports to users, etc.