Consultation on the feasibility of developing an extension for 3DSlicer

Hello,
I’m new to 3DSlicer, I’d like to ask a few questions about the feasibility of developing an extension/module for calculating the volume proportion of the confocal region in volume rendering.

The measurement of confocal regions is of great interest to many biologists.
Therefore, the main functions/features of the extension/module I’m going to develop are:

1. The image data is visualized in volume rendering.
  2. The proportion of the volume of the confocal region can be calculated. For example, if the image data displayed in volume rendering contains red and green channels, the confocal region(overlapping region) will be displayed in yellow. Then, this extension/module will help us to calculate the volume percentage of the yellow region. In other words, to achieve the proportion calculation of the intersecting region of multiple volumes.
  3. In addition, another feature I’d like to achieve is that the above functions can be integrated into VR so that users can complete the measurement of the volume of the confocal region in VR mode.

So my question is:

1. Are the volume rendering and multi-volume rendering of 3Dslicer developed based on VTK?
  2. Is it possible for me to complete this extension/module development with python and VTK? Could you please describe the feasibility of developing this extension/module? And to develop it, where should I start? (I noticed that the Segment Statistics module of 3DSlicer seems can already generate specific volume values.)
    Thank you so much!

Best Regards,
Charles

Yes, Slicer uses the CPU and GPU implementations from VTK for Volume Rendering. In addition, there is the SlicerPRISM extension for customizing the rendering at the shader level.

Yes, this sounds quite doable in python. You can learn how to do by following the tutorials.

Hello Pieper,
Thank you for your kind reply!