Convert STL to DICOM

Hello,
I’ve been using 3D sicer since today. I am very happy to have discovered this program and I hope to solve my problem with it.
I have a CAD model of a pacemaker. I need to convert this model as DICOM to be able to import it later into radiation simulation programs for further research.
I have exported the CAD model as STL and opened it in 3D slicer. With the tool “Create a Dicom series” I thought to convert this model. Unfortunately I cannot select an “Input Volume”. Am I doing something wrong? Could someone give me a short step-by-step guide?

Thanks a lot.

Hi, I am very new in with this software. I would like to have a 3D model of an implant converted into dicom CT series. As I understood, it cannot be converted directly to dicom since it is not a solid object it is a surface mesh structure of the object. So what can I do to reach my goal? Whats steps are neccessary to transform a stl to dicom? unfortunately I have no idea and I could also not find any hints online.

Commercial radiation therapy treatment planning systems have quite rigid workflows, so they cannot import arbitrary images volume and paste it into a patient image. The optimal solution depends on what exactly you would like to achieve (are you interested more in the patient dose or how much radiation the pacemaker is exposed to, how accurately you want to model the pacemaker and its placement under the skin, if you have easy access to a radiation treatment planning system, etc.).

In general, you If you want to create a simulated image of a patient CT with a pacemaker then the best is to start with a real CT image of a patient and a real CT image of a pacemaker and combine them.

You might start with simply positioning the pacemaker image (using Transforms module) and add it to the patient image (using Add Scalar Volumes module).