Creating a plane 90 degrees from an existing plane manually or automatically

Hi! I am looking to use 3DSlicer to analyze several CT scans and need to create two planes to base my measurement on. The first is going to be a Frankfort plan based on 3 markups and the second will be a coronal plane 90 degrees vertically from the created Frankfort plane. What would be the best way to do this? I know there is a script function to measure the angle between two planes. In theory, I could place the new plane and then adjust it until it is 90 degrees but that seems time-consuming to do for 100+ images.

Ultimately I want to create a program that will allow me to place a few control points and measurement points and generate the two planes as well as the distance between a series of points and the planes. This is just the first step. I’ve looked into the extension SlicerMorph to help automatic this process but any additional tips would be greatly appreciated since this is my first time using 3D Slicer as a replacement for mimics/dolphin.

TLDR: How can I create two planes 90 degrees from each other based and then place a series of points and get the distance from them in the plane in the fastest, non-manual way possible?

I suppose you are referring to markups planes.

You may automate the plane creation steps by placing 3 fiducial points per the requirements of the Frankfurt plane. The script below will create orthogonal planes using the 3 fiducial points.

def createPlanes(f, angle):
    p1 = [0.0, 0.0, 0.0]
    p2 = [0.0, 0.0, 0.0]
    p3 = [0.0, 0.0, 0.0]
    f.GetNthControlPointPositionWorld(0, p1)
    f.GetNthControlPointPositionWorld(1, p2)
    f.GetNthControlPointPositionWorld(2, p3)

plane1 = slicer.mrmlScene.AddNewNodeByClass("vtkMRMLMarkupsPlaneNode")
    plane1.CreateDefaultDisplayNodes()
    plane1.SetPlaneType(slicer.vtkMRMLMarkupsPlaneNode.PlaneType3Points)
    plane1.AddControlPointWorld(p1)
    plane1.AddControlPointWorld(p2)