orthogonal planes/axes and angle measurement

Operating system: Windows 7
Slicer version: 4.10.1
Expected behavior: unknown
Actual behavior: unknown

Is there a possibility in 3D Slicer to place orthogonal planes in a CT and measure angles between these and other planes created?

Thanks so much

AnglePlanes extension should allow you to define all the planes you need and compute angles between them.

Hi Andras,

Great, thanks. I’ll try that.

I am brand new to Slicer and haven’t really worked with it a lot yet, so I apologise for my ignorance in advance.

Is the AnglePlanes extension part of the slicer software already or do I have to download it in addition?

Many thanks and have a good day,

Claudia

You can download it from the Extension Manager (menu: View / Extension Manager).

Hi Andras,

sorry to bother you again. Where does the new extension (angle planes) appear in the slicer program? I cannot find it in the modules section after downloading it.

Thanks so much,

Claudia

I don’t remember which category the module should show up in but you can hit Ctrl-F and start typing the name of a module to find it.

You’re a star. Found it.
Another related question to the AnglePlane module. Is is possible to create a plane as a best fit of several triangles - like brushing an area - or can I only create planes with landmarks?

I tried to fit the coloured plane to the area I want to have included in the plane, but I find it really difficult to navigate the plane in 360degrees.

THANKS!!!

Claudia

Hi Andras,

Me again. I just found your name as a contact person related to the Plus Toolkit as well. I just wanted to warn you that I might send you lots of questions and messages about Slicer, IGT, plus toolkit etc. in the next weeks and months! :wink:

I am a veterinarian and not an engineer and more or less new to all these programs. I have worked with Polaris Vicra before but on a very basic level. Is it okay if I contact you with any issues or problems I have?