CT Slice Thickness

Operating system: Windows 10
Slicer version: 4.10.1

Hi,

I’m a newbie to Slicer so apologies in advance if what I’m asking is obvious to some of you. Please be gentle!

I have a dataset that is a stack of CT slices, each of which is 512 pixels x 512 pixels. The slice thickness is very fine (of the order of a 0.25 mm) and I’d like reformat the stack to a thicker slice thickness (e.g. 2.0 mm). Very crudely, this would be roughly equivalent to reducing the number of slices by replacing every 8 slices with the average pixel value across all of the 8 slices. (I appreciate the physics of the imaging process means that generating a thick slice isn’t as simple as plain averaging, yet this is still a reasonable first order approximation.)

Having followed the various tutorials to get my head around how to use Slicer, importing my dataset, ensuring the orientation is correct, etc. I’ve been trying to work out how to modify slice thickness. My reading has led me to various resampling options. However, resampling at a coarser slice separation just generates a new slice with the pixel values interpolated from slices either side in the stack. Reading further I’m beginning to understand this is expected behaviour - resampling is exactly that, determining new pixel values through more or less sophisticated methods of interpolation.