DICOM cardiac CT image time series appears as moving line

Hi, everyone. I’m pretty new to 3D Slicer and Imaging in general. I’m trying to volume render a heart from a 2-chamber CT view, however, the format of the DICOM file is problematic. I have 20 instances (files) and every time I try to load it as a DICOM directory, it loads as very thin slices.

The image dimensions in the volume module are 256x256x1 and I have to resize it by changing the image spacing values. Another problem I have is whenever I cycle through each instance, it seems like I’m seeing a narrow “window” as the image below it is being translated as it moves. I’m not sure what to do because all the youtube videos I’ve watched show that cycling through each instance shows different perpendicular slices w/ a plane but this just seems like a long picture parallel to the plane and shows me sections of it as I cycle.

Also, when I try to volume render, I have to select scalar volume instead of multivolume when I load from the DICOM menu. Multivolume won’t let me even access the volume render menu but Scalar Volume (HLA/VLA FIESTA works, not ones from TriggerTime). Even so, with scalar volume, the render is like an extrusion through one plane. It doesn’t provide a 3D model of the heart, rather some distorted 3d lines passing through one plane (usually axial). My research professor may have mentioned that the CT images also have time instances associated with it, but I don’t know what to do that or how to even check.

I’ve tried reading some things online such as https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/FAQ#Image_is_stretched_or_compressed_along_one_axis where it tell me that the image is compressed along an axis but I’m not sure. Also, I’ve read https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2706116/ which says that modern CT uses thin slices but I’ve got no idea what to do.

Can anyone help me? Also, I apologize if the vocabulary I’ve used isn’t technical enough.