Drawing shapes in volume rendering

Hello,
This is my first post on this forum, and I am new to Slicer. Hopefully you will be tolerant :slight_smile:
I want to create a shape, which would be visible in VR - the best approach would be to use Fiducials (as they are easy to move once placed) and possibly connect them by lines to draw a shape. I need to draw a triangle. I suppose. it could be a segment in 3D.
Any ideas what would be the best and easiest approach?
Thanks,
Jonas

If you went to draw a point and a triangle line, the best method is “CurveMaker” module.
https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Extensions/CurveMaker

1 Like

Thanks for your input. I have tested the functionality - it is on the right path to the destination :slight_smile:
My intention is to have a plane/area (surface?) between the dots.

Curve is on the left, and I want to have an area like on the right.
Any insights how this could be achieved?

Ok, I managed to get it to work. I found a plugin markup to model and it had a function “closed surface”.
Now I can generate such model:

Now I have additional question - if I try to make it transparent, it disappears - despite the skull having no visible voxels in the clipping ROI, it does not show model in it with transparency - any ideas how it could be solved?

Note that there is already a Segment Editor effect (“Surface cut”), available in SegmentEditorExtraEffects extension, which uses MarkupsToModel module to create segments. I would recommend using this effect and tune it as needed, instead of redeveloping this effect from scratch.

To show semitransparent models correctly, you need to enable depth peeling in the 3D view:

1 Like

Ok, I followed your advice - I can easily segment a triangle shape surface (which is perfect), however, I still can’t achieve to have semi-transparency in 3D rending whatever I do. Any ideas?

It looks good. To adjust opacity, move the opacity slider in Display section / 3D row.