How to display 2 volumes with transparences

As a title I’m curious to know how to display 2 or more volume in the same scene, with transparence effect, to show internal anatomic structures

thanks

Hi,
In python interface:
Perhaps by:
slicer.modules.models.logic().AddModel(myPolyData)
or
slicer.modules.models.logic().AddVolume(myPolyData)

Hello. Thank you for reply but I’m a beginner user and I’m able to use only a graphic interface… :frowning:

do you mean a result like this?

I’ve done with philips workstation, but i’m interest too to have a similar result with Slicer… I will try

In general, anatomical images are complex enough that display them by simple blending has limited use. You can try it easily in slice views, select one volume as foreground, another one as background, and adjust the foreground visibility slider.

What works quite well (but of course somewhat more work) is to segment relevant structures from at least one of the volumes, and display those segments overlaid on the other volume. The non-segmented volume can be visualized using Volume rendering module. Segments can be made transparent in 3D views by adjusting display settings in Segmentations module.

I’ve 3 volume in volume rendering:

• the mail volume (dataset base)
  • volume 1 segmented from main volume using mask
  • volume 2 , similare to volume 1 but not sliglty different

In volume rendering I can display correctly each of them but not all together ???!!

Yes, you can show one volume using volume rendering at a time, all the others have to be segmented. By using Segment Editor module, you can often create high-quality Segmentations quite easily.

Multiple volume rendering may be added to VTK in the near future and then we’ll enable that in Slicer as well.

1 Like

but we can display multiple model as here?

http://www.spl.harvard.edu/publications/bitstream/viewbiglogo/2037/BrainAtlas-Snapshot

I need to save segmentation as model?