Eagle CT data set-how to improve CT resolution_ Preferred CT settings

I am segmenting the skeleton of an eagle that was electrocuted. He has since recovered and is doing well. The middle section of his lungs and spine are much darker and the resolution is not as clear as other areas of the skeleton. I have tried window leveling without much success.

1. Are there Slicer features I can use to get better resolution of the central portion of his spine? The segmentation will be used for 3d printing.

2. Are there preferred setting for CT’s? Again for 3D printing. In terms of resolution (voxel size, slice thickness, specific low or high pass filters) and field of view size?

Thank you.
Rich

Data sets were provided by Dr Scott Echols, www.avianstudios.com).

I’m not an eagle expert, but is it possible the bones are just less dense there, perhaps to be lighter? I say that because the adjacent anatomy doesn’t look like it’s lower resolution or intensity than muscles elsewhere. Unfortunately when bones are less dense simple thresholding doesn’t work well and you may be reduced to semi-automated approaches. The Grow from seeds tool in the Segment Editor is a good general purpose tool, but I don’t know how it will work for this data.

@muratmaga may have suggestions for working with animal data.

This looks like a medical CT scan, if so you probably not going to get a very good detail on the vertebra. Perhaps oversampling may help a bit? And also if the image is anisotropic, you may want to set the isotropic option in Crop Volume. They may help a bit during segmentation.