Surface details in segmenting

I am new to slicer. I tried segmenting small bones from 3D DICOM images and the 3 d image quality is not very clear as shown in videos. Like bone surface are not smooth ( if I make it smooth by surface tools module, I lose surface details, don’t I?). Trying to recreate good surface details. Could anyone please advise. Thanks

1 Like

Could you paste here a few screenshots to illustrate what kind of input images you have and how the segmented output looks like?

1 Like

This is as opposed to the following image unsegmented but built from the same CT scan usi g a dicom viewer. Surface! anatomy is clearer and surfaces are smooth

The two visualizations are very different. What you segmented is a surface rendering of a surface model created from a labelmap of the segmentation. The image you pasted from the DICOM viewer is a volume rendering, which is a visualization technique directly from the volume. Read a bit on this here:

The segmentation is mostly based on intensities, and is usually not perfect. Also the output of it is a binary mask volume (i.e. labelmap), which is by definition “not smooth”. You can do further smoothing in Segment Editor using the Smoothing effect, or you can increase the smoothing factor applied for the surface conversion under the small arrow next to the Show 3D button.

2 Likes

Thank you very much @cpinter. Does this mean segmenting a small bone of about 15 mm diameter and trying to identify a 1mm sized vascular foramen on the surface is not very accurate, after segmentation.