Experience with importing amira/avizo into 3D Slicer

I am curious if anyone on the forum has experience with importing Amira/Avizo files (particularly the segmentation) into Slicer one way or another.

Amira/Avizo has been used quite a lot in the biological sciences for 3D morphology and there a quite a few labs who want to wean themselves off and switch using Slicer/SlicerMorph, but are reluctant to do so, since they got quite a few datasets.

I have no experience with these two software, and in fact don’t exactly know what the distinctions between these two. Any input will be much appreciated.

I don’t have any direct experience either, but if people could post example datasets they want to work with, ideally with info about how they were generated (like a tutorial) we could investigate.

I have used both AMIRA/AVIZO since it’s beginnings and 3Dslicer more recently, and there certainly are ways to exchange data.

I am aware of and have used Fiji incl. the bio-format plugin (Supported Formats — Bio-Formats 6.6.1 documentation) for the import of Amira data and the 3D IO plugin for export of MHD data (ij-plugins - IJ Plugins: 3D I/O).

I have also looked into using direct export options of Avizo (a while back though) and seem to remember that e.g. the origin of a 3D image data set was ignored upon export.
I am not 100% sure in how far interpretation of data (origin at the centre/edge of a pixel) is consistent across different software.

I very much agree that having a good understanding of how to best exchange data between systems would be most helpful and I’d be happy to explore if our experience is of any use for what you have in mind here.

Best wishes,
Markus

1 Like

Thanks @MarkusHeller. I was thinking that BioFormats may support it, but not having an actual Avizo file, I wasn’t able to try.