Support for .AIM/.isq files generated on Scanco microCT

I might be the odd one out here working on plants. I am new to Slicer and trying to use Scanco microCT 50 for scanning my plant root samples. Would like to know if you are planning to give support for direct import of .AIM/other formats that Scanco imagers generate.

Very cool.

I’m not sure if you’re familiar with open-source projects, but support is usually given by the people who need a particular feature. You’re correct that we don’t have a lot of people using Slicer for plants, but there could be a lot of useful tools for image analysis here for you.

With regards to file loading support, your two options are to ask the community to implement it for you (someone might say yes, more likely if you can provide a document describing the file format, or any other libraries that already load the file), or to implement it yourself, with the community’s help (you’ll find lots of development support here).

If you’re interested in having a go at it yourself, this is a good start
IO in Slicer
3D models module, which is a fine example of loading 3D model data in Slicer

Edit: closing bracket

2 Likes

Hi @BhanuPetla - I’ll second what @adamrankin said, and just add that you might also get some help if in addition to documentation you could share some cool example data for people to experiment with.

2 Likes

There are many options to build a workflow where you annotate and analyze CT images.

Most often you just acquire images there and then later annotate the images in other software. Do you annotate images on the scanner console? What other software do you use for visualization, annotation, and analysis?

What kind of annotations do you use (points, lines, curves, angles, 3D segmentations, …)?

What would you like to do with the annotations? Just show them, or also edit them, analyze them, compute metrics, etc.?

2 Likes