Export scene as dicom

Hi,

I am a bit new at using the Dicom export function and currently it gives the error:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “”, line 2, in
TypeError: init() missing 1 required positional argument: ‘referenceFile’

When I try to export the scene into Dicom. I am aware that in this case it can only be opened with slicer but that is the point. I checked from the code of the export function that it should take the first file from the dicom database as the reference or you can specify a reference file but I do not see such option as the export scene freezes all options to begin with.

How do I solve this?

Thanks for reporting. Yes, it looks like this refactoring led to an argument mismatch between the dialog code and the python class. You could try going back to an earlier version of Slicer and it might work. @lassoan or @cpinter have you tried this feature lately?

@Pheasant you can call the exporter from Python with the needed argument - as you say it just needs to be a file from the study you want to export into.

We refactored the scene bundle export to use the export plugin infrastructure (using the first file in the DICOM database as a basis of the bundle just seemed very arbitrary). However, we forgot to remove the option from the top (and nobody reported it that it was broken until now).

You can choose Slicer data bundle export type to export a scene in a DICOM file:

The item that you right-click on will be used as a basis for the DICOM file, so if you don’t have anything loaded from DICOM then you first need to export something (e.g., a volume node) to DICOM and then load it into the scene. It is definitely not nice or convenient, there was just not a lot of interest in this feature to make it polished and easily usable for many workflows.

@Pheasant can you tell a bit about your workflow? How do you plan to use these scene bundle DICOM files?