Export Volume Rendering as stack of PNG's. NOT stl's

Operating system:Windows 10 Pro
Slicer version:4.9.0

Hello. I did a quick google search but nothing showed up so I was wondering if you could help me.

I am very familiar with thresholding/segmenting/exporting as stl’s, etc… I work as a 3d Printing Lab Coordinator at a hospital.

However I’m fortunate enough to have a printer that can print voxel by voxel and theoretically have MUCH more detail than traditional 3d printers (in 500,000+ colors). In order to print at the voxel level I need to provide a stack of .png’s to the software. Obviously my first thought was to take the dicom images and convert to png in batch and provide that, but I’d rather not just have black and white prints. So I thought it’d be cool if the volume rendering options in 3d slicer that provide color volumes could then be exported (with their colors) as a stack of png’s. Possible? How do I do it?

Thank you for any help!

You may record a video from your VR model using Screen Capture module, then export each frame to PNG images. It should be possible to modify the ffmpeg video creation options so that the source PNG files are not deleted during video creation, but I don’t know what other option to pass to ffmpeg. Or I completely missed your point.

I’d have to try it but I’m not 100% sure thats it. What I’m looking for is really just like a png that is a colorized version of each dicom image. I know there are dicom-> png converters (which i’ve used) but then I’m left with black and white png’s. I want pngs that have color and transparency added in a similar manner to what the volume render did. I can then send that stack of png’s to my printer.

I’m assuming pngs from the video would be more like a frame by frame screenshot from one viewpoint? Right?

1 Like