How can I write a python CLI code using slicer internal module

Hi,

I am new to slice and working on incorporating our own 3D segmentation model with slicer. And we would like to assume the slicer user does not know anything about code, so intend to write a python CLI code to do everything. I am wondering is it possible? If not, can you provide me some lights that what should I do?

1. The user specifies the input volume path, output volume path, and some other parameters, then our python code computes the segmentation. This can be done as shown here: SlicerPythonCLIExample/BlurImage.py at master · lassoan/SlicerPythonCLIExample · GitHub

2. But I would like to use this external python code (note not the interpreter provided in slicer) to render /plot/show the segmentation mask in slicer, is it possible? I know how to do this with the interpreter provided in slicer but not sure whether I can do this with totally external python code?

Thanks!

I don’t know how to edit the original post so I reply here.

After more search, I think CLI is designed to not interact with slicer core. I find an alternative way to do it.
I only want the computed label map to be received by Slicer, currently, I did this by return the label map as a grayscale volume and convert it manually through the volume module. Is there a way to explicitly denote the returned object as a label map in Slicer Execution Model?

Thanks!

CLI modules are Python scripts or command-line applications that do not rely on Slicer. They can be executed within Slicer’s environment or without Slicer. What Slicer offers is displaying automatically-generated GUI, writing all inputs to file, executing the application, continuous progress reporting, and in the end reading back all outputs into the scene.