How to run python based CLI modules?

I have gone through this
https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Developers/SlicerExecutionModel/Python

So, what I understand about python based CLI is:
there is an xml file which will produce GUI for application and the same xml is used by the .py file to parse elements.
the execute function is in the xml file that will be run by slicer and the name of the script .py file is within this function.

how to run and test the python based cli module?

Thank you

Regards,
Saima Safdar

Hi Saima -

For a new style python scripted cli, you can run like you would any other cli.

https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Developers/Python_scripting#Running_a_CLI_from_Python

E.g.

node = slicer.cli.runSync(slicer.modules.slicerradiomicscli)
print(node)

HTH,
Steve

How to run and test newly created cli modules?
and how do you get the GUI for newly created CLI module?

I am new in this and I want to create a python based CLI module. The module will take input image send it to external python file for execution (as python 3 external libraries are required) and return the resultant image.

Please help me as I could not understand how to do this?

I have found this script
https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Developers/SlicerExecutionModel/Python

I need to do this but I do not know how I can do this in slicer?

Do I need to build with cmake. then create a scripted module for the cli and then run thought the scripted module?

Please guide how can I create python based CLI modules

Hi @Saima -

As it says at the top of the page you linked that older style was only supported in Slicer 3.x. There is a new style for Slicer 4.x that you can follow like in this repository.

The description of the parameters goes in the .xml file, and the script to run is the .py file.

You can also look at the PyCLIModule tests here.