How does 3D Slicer overlay the RTDOSE and Image data in the correct position?

Hello,

I’m currently an MS student in Medical Physics and I have a great need to be able to overlay an isodose distribution from an RTDOSE file onto a CT image from a .dcm file set.

I’ve managed to extract the image and the dose pixel arrays myself using pydicom and dicom_numpy, but the two arrays are not the same size! So, if I overlay the two together, the dose will not be in the correct position based on what the Elekta Gamma Plan software exported it as.

I’ve played around with slicerrt and it obviously is able to do this even though the arrays are not the same size. However, I think I cannot export the numerical data when using slicerrt…I can only scroll through and view it as an image. What section of the code has the algorithm for overlaying the RTDOSE to an image?

Thank you

Why not just import the DICOM-RT in the DICOM browser and load it? SlicerRT takes care of the geometry and everything else.

If you only want to use Slicer’s GUI for a few cases and do the rest of your work in batch mode without GUI that i fine, too: you can install any Python packages and run any scripts in Slicer’s Python environment. Slicer even provides a Jupyter kernel so you can access it from Jupyter notebooks.

Dear lassoan and cpinter,

Thank you for your reply,

I am planning to overlay the rt dose file with the CT images to feed both arrays to a neural network; however, when I try to import the rt dose file as dicom array, I will get something like this: 135,98,115.
Additionally, when I import the CT images as an array I will get the following array: 70,512,512
As you can see in these array shapes, neither the slice number nor the image dimension are the same, but I found out that slicerrt has the ability to overlay RT dose file with the CT images in the correct position.
I am writing to ask how this module can correct the position of RT dose files.