Read pixel data of DICOM RT files

Slicer version:4.10.2

Dear all

Is it possible that we are able to extract the pixel and map it to dose from the dicom files?

For example,

I have a set of dicom files exported from Treatment planning system (Plan, Structure, dose, CT images). Using these dicom files, I have used Geant4 to do a dose calculation which output me another “dose” dicom file.

Does SlicerRT allow us to upload the dose and CT dicom files and mapped it together? Furthermore, can we then extract the exact dose values such that it can be used for further data processing in Matlab or python like plotting of Spread out Bragg Peak etc…

Thank you!

Calvin

Yes, these are all straightforward to do in Slicer using SlicerRT. Let us know if you get stuck.

Hi Lassoan

This is my first time using slicer… Do you know where I can refer to to start using SlicerRT? Is there any guide or tutorial for slicerRT available?

Thanks alot!

Tutorials are available here: https://www.slicer.org/wiki/Documentation/Nightly/Extensions/SlicerRT#Tutorials

Feel free to post new topics if you have any specific questions.

Hi Lassoan

I still couldn’t really find the section where is shows how to extract the exact dose values such that it can be use for further data processing. Could you give me some pointers where I should start looking or which options should i be clicking on?

Thank you.

Hi Calvin,

Several people have inquired in the past weeks about integrating SlicerRT and Geant4/TOPAS. I’d be more than happy to help, but I don’t have access to any Geant4 dose calculation workflow. If you could show us what the output looks like, then it would be a great first step towards this goal.